This site uses affiliate links. See Disclosure. All opinions my own.

What is Your Love Language

It’s that time of year, again, when I am reminded that it is time to plan my annual reading of  The Five Love Languages

lovelanguages By far  The 5 Love Languages, by Gary Chapman, is one of my all time favorite books.   It is one of a handful of books that I will read more than once. I usually can’t stand to read the same book twice, because I know what is going to happen and it just kills the enjoyment for me.  This book, however, is a worthy exception.

I first read The Five Love Languages in 1997, shortly after I became a Christian.  I learned SO much the first time I read it.  For the first time in my adult life, I actually felt like I understood my Dad.  My Dad was always the provider.  He worked long, hard hours to provide for the six of us kids and Mom.  Dad is a man of few words, and he didn’t often say I love you… at least, when we were younger.  From reading The Five Love Languages, I realized that Dad spoke his love for us every time he punched the time clock, every time he worked overtime, and every time he took the odd job snow plowing or repairing someone’s car.  I didn’t understand then, nor did he, that we spoke different love languages.

Since 1997, I have tried to read The Five Love Languages at least once a year.  I really think that I gain fresh, new perspective into the relationships in my life each time I read it.

2012 is nearly a quarter finished (can you believe it?) and I have to get this book back in my stack.  I think it is essential reading for everyone who loves anyone!

I took the love language test, available online.  Here are my results…

My Primary Love Language is Words of Affirmation

My Detailed Results:
Words of Affirmation: 11
Quality Time: 8
Acts of Service: 6
Physical Touch: 4
Receiving Gifts: 1

I feel loved when… I am told that I am loved, or appreciated, or talented, or…

Pretty much, I am a words girl.

Words will either build me up or tear me down.

Now that Dad understands that, he never hangs up the phone without saying the words “I love you.”  And if he does, one of us is quick to hit redial (bet you can’t guess which one).

Unhappiness in relationships is often due to the fact that we speak different love languages. It can be helpful to know what language you speak and what language those around you speak.  How about you? Do you know your primary Love Language?

Take the Quiz!

I would love to know your results, too.  What did you think of the quiz?  Do you think the result is an accurate assessment of your love language?

The Five Love Languages is available on Amazon

Have you read it?  What are your thoughts?


***This is an unsolicited review, and I purchased my own copy of THIS book.   I originally posted about The Five Love Languages back in 2009 and updated to share with you again, because I think this book is that important!  I will soon be sharing my review of The 5 Love Languages of Children, which I had previously received as a gift from my Mother-in-Law, and also received a review copy of from the publisher.  I have donated my extra copy to our church resource library.  Squee!***

This site uses affiliate links. See Disclosure. All Opinions are My Own
About Virginia

Hi there! My name is Virginia, and I am the author/owner of That Bald Chick. I am a Christian, wife, mother of three, full time homemaker, homeschooler, and ministry volunteer in addition to being a blogger. In my free time *cough* I enjoy reading, writing, taking walks with my family, and listening to music.


  1. My results are: Your Primary Love Language is probably Acts of Service. I’ll have to think about that one. =) Interesting topic. I’ll check out the book.

  2. April Decheine says:

    Interesting I will have to go and take the quiz, thank you!

  3. I have the singles’ version of the book at home, I really need to actually sit down and read it sometime.

    the link had to removed the quiz. go to instead
    My results:
    Word of Affirmation 7
    Quality Time 11
    Receiving Gifts 0 (too much stuff to dust as it is!!)
    Acts of Service 8
    Physical Touch 4 (I’m pretty sure when I get married, this one will be more important, but for now friends touching me sometimes just seems weird!!)

  4. This book is GENIUS! It has really helped a lot of people.

  5. I’m the same as you, I need to hear the words I love you. I’m also very interested in reading this book.

  6. We did this in church once. I need to get the book though.

  7. Mine is quality time followed closely by physical touch. I would completely agree with that assessment! The cool thing – hubby scored almost exactly the same.

  8. Mine is acts of service and Matt’s is physical touch, which doesn’t relate as love to me since anyone can do it without love involved. This has caused us some problems throughout the years, but this book helped us better understand each other.

  9. interesting book. i’m gonna read this one 🙂

  10. My love language has always been gifts followed by acts of service 🙂